Is the new chocolate superfood formula gluten-free?
Just like the original formula, the new Shakeology chocolate superfood formula does not contain any gluten-based ingredients and we make every effort to prevent any ingredients with gluten from coming into direct or indirect contact with our products. However, because of our high standards we do not feel it is appropriate to make a gluten-free claim since Shakeology is produced in facilities that also handle gluten-based ingredients. If you have a concern about gluten it is best to consult your doctor before making any dietary changes.
Shakeology packaging used to say it was gluten-free. Why no longer?
Because the safety of our customers is extremely important to us we felt it was prudent to include the statement that Shakeology is made in a factory that also handles gluten (wheat) based ingredients and we removed the gluten-free statement. This does not mean that Shakeology contains gluten, in fact the Shakeology formula does not have any gluten based ingredients and we make every effort to prevent any ingredients with gluten from coming into direct or indirect contact with our product. This is taking a very conservative approach, however the health and safety of consumers is our number one priority.
When will Shakeology be certified gluten-free?
There are no gluten-based ingredients in the Shakeology formula. Although we can apply for a gluten- free certification, the safety of our customers is extremely important to us and until we are satisfied that our high standards can be met we will not put a gluten-free certified statement on the package. To meet our internal standards, we are reviewing our entire supply chain of nearly 100 ingredients to ensure that there is no potential exposure to gluten based grains from the farm to the Shakeology product being sealed in the final package. At this point we cannot say when that assessment will be complete.